Where Are You?- poem

Where are you
When you stare into the depths of the outside world,
Without regards to your surroundings?

I need to know, where are you
When you stay silent for a while too long
When your messages are shorter than usual
When you hold your head and sigh,
I have no choice but to ask-
Where are you?

I’m pulling a bit tight on the ropes that
Tie us together.
So I can get you back slowly,
Back to here. Back to now.

I play a game of tug-of war,
Where I am harsh reality and you are a better world.
And I wonder why I can’t simply
Lose and join you-

For I’d rather daydream and lose all care,
Find time to twirl a flower and to
Slow dance in the middle of the night.
To be spontaneous, to be ‘too much’, to be me.

To smile a lot, to be silly, to be colourful and go crazy,
And to be me- with you.

Written by
Milomi.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/Bwg5L-sks3g

Published by milomi10

Just because I’m awake doesn’t mean I can’t dream.

Leave a comment