Drown – poem

The current is too strong
And useless to fight against
It’s useless to try and find
The last ounce of courage one has
When all is lost
And nothing can be done

I’m resigned to my fate
As dark as it seems
I know I will drown
If not today, tomorrow
Or the day after that

It’s a ticking clock
Mocking me
Betting when I will fall
And surrender to the tide
Enveloped by the sea

I’m trying to keep afloat
And hang on to whatever little rock
I can grasp
But I can’t hang on forever
Nature will win this war
As it has on countless occasions

The tiny speck that is me
Will no longer be seen in the ocean
Holding on for dear life
But will be lost in the waves
Aching to get back
But knowing one cannot defy nature.

Written by
Milomi.

Image source: https://unsplash.com/photos/-lpbnspYkJg

Published by milomi10

Just because I’m awake doesn’t mean I can’t dream.

Leave a comment